Skip to content

Private Room

Private rooms allow you to roll dice with your friends (or foes, we don't judge.)

Creating a room

To create your first private room, navigate to dddice.com and click "Roll Dice" on the main page. You will be redirected to your own private room.

Info

dddice alpha: Private rooms are semi-permanent. When you tap "Roll Dice", a private room will be generated for your browser session. Each time you tap "Roll Dice", we will attempt to locate your previously created room in order to make sharing easier. If you wish to create an entirely new room, clear your browser's cookies or use a different device to create a room. This functionality is expected to change in future updates.

Interface

Update room name

The room name is displayed at the top-center of the interface. The room name can be changed by the room owner (i.e. the user who created the room) by tapping on the room name.

Tap the room name to begin typing and tap off the room name to save. New and existing connected users will see the change immediately.

Update your user

Under the room name are overlapping circles of the currently connected users. Hover over any user circle to see the username. Tap on the user circle labeled ME to edit your username and color. New and existing connected users will see your updated information immediately.

Share a room

At the very end of the connected users circle, tap the plus (+) icon to open the "Invite your friends" screen.

Share the URL or have nearby players scan the QR code to join your private room.

Press ESC or use the "X" in the top-right corner to close this screen.

Roll dice

dddice allows you to roll any number of standard tabletop RPG dice including d20s, d12s, d10s, d8s, d6s, and d4s.

Tap the dice at the bottom of the screen to add to your current roll. Click a die multiple times to continuing adding. For example, click "d20" a couple times to roll "2d20". Your current roll is displayed in the center of the screen.

When you are ready to roll, click the blue "Roll Dice" or "Hidden Roll" buttons at the bottom of the screen.

Warning

There is a limit of 25 dice on the screen at any time. We might make this customizable in the future.

Customize dice piles

Use the "Organize My Dice" button, located to the left of the "Hidden Roll" button to browse and organize your dice. You can add up to four (4) dice per pile.

To add a die to your dice pile, simply drag a die from the browser above to an empty slot in your piles below.

To remove a die from your dice pile, simply drag a die from an occupied slot to outside the piles.

Rolling entire dice pile

Note

Pro Tip: You can customize dice piles however you want! For example, organize using a d20 and 3d6 to roll for attack and damage in one roll.

If your pile has more than one (1) die, you will have the option to "Add entire pile" to your current roll. This button appears above each dice pile on mobile and is revealed on hover of individual dice piles on desktop.

Viewing rolls

Rolls will appear in the bottom-right corner of the screen. To clear these rolls, use the gear icon in the top-left corner of the interface and tap "Clear Chat".

Click on any chat message found in the lower right corner of your screen to expand the roll with detailed information about each die rolled.

Click a chat message again to close the expanded view.

Hidden rolls

Click the "Hidden Roll" button to make a roll that will only be visible to you. Die themes can customize how numbers are hidden and revealed but generally the numbers are omitted from the die when hidden and fade in when unhidden.

When a hidden roll is made, options to "Peek" and "Unhide" the roll will appear in the roll's chat message.

Tap "Peek" to inspect the results of the roll privately. Tap "Unhide" to reveal the value to everyone in the room.

Clear Rolls/Board

To clear all 3D dice from your screen, tap the gear icon in the top-left corner of the interface and tap "Clear Board".

Note: This will only clear rolls from your local screen. Other connected players will not be affected. In the future we may introduce additional options - let us know!

Streaming Mode

See Streaming Mode for more information about connecting dddice with software such as OBS Studio.

Feedback / Report an Issue

Use the gear icon in the top-left corner of the iterface to open additional options such as "Leave Feedback".

This will open a new window to our contact page. Use this form to leave feedback for us or report an issue. All submissions are read and prioritized but you may not receive a direct response.